• Reset

Found 15 Results
Page 1 of 2

2017 | Cape to Rio

Runaway was the first to cross the finish line in 12 days 15 hours and 4 minutes. Black Pearl won on handicap followed by Runaway and Lion of Africa Vulcan.  

2014 | Cape to Rio

Crossing the line first and smashing the record was the Italian Open 70, Maserati skippered by Giovanni Soldini with a time of 10 days 11 hours 29 minutes. Three days behind them was the Australian team aboard the custom Reichel Pugh 52-footer Scarlet Runner finishing 2nd overall with a time of 14 days 19 hours […]

2011 | Cape to Rio

After much persuasion and correspondence, the 2011 race was once returned to its roots to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and reverted to its name of the Cape to Rio Race with the support of the title sponsor Heineken.

2009 | Cape to Bahia

In the 2009 edition, with sponsorship once again from the international brewer, the Heineken Cape to Bahia Race brought together two of the fastest yachts in the world, Rambler from New York and ICAP Leopard from London.

2006 | Cape to Bahia

At the urging of Brazilian Georg Ehrensperger, the 2006 race set a new course to Salvador, the picturesque capital of Brazil’s Bahia state. The historic port meant an interesting new destination, and avoided the calms often met on the course after Ihla Trinidade.

2003 | Cape to Rio

With the growing popularity of multihulls, the 2003 race introduced these craft into the race, and the 60-foot racing trimaran Nicator, sailed by Klas Nylof and crew, and Brazilian Georg Ehrensperger’s 65-foot racing catamaran Adrenalina Pura, offering a rather uneven competition to Hasso Plattner’s latest monohull, again named Morning Glory.

2000 | Cape to Rio

Although the next race should have been held in 1999, it was postponed to 2000, to allow it to coincide with the 500th anniversary of Pedro Cabral’s discovery of Brazil. The 2000 Cape to Rio race, sponsored by MTN, was the first major ocean event of the new millennium.

1996 | Cape to Rio

The final total of 59 entries for the Rio race fell far short of both the 120 that were expected, and the 82 yachts that set sail in the last event three years previously, however the race proved to be exciting as ever.

1993 | Cape to Rio

A surprisingly large fleet of 83 yachts were on the start line on January 9th, 1993, where two locally-built maxis, Parker Pen designed by Angelo Lavranos, and Broomstick, designed by Alex Simonis, led the fleet out into the bay followed by Morning Glory – a high-tech 15.3m race machine purpose-built for the event for skipper Doctor Hasso Plattner

1985 | Cape to Uruguay

Unfavourably light winds turned the 1985 edition into a real test of fortitude for the competitors as the extremely slow-going meant many crews had to deal with depleted water and food supplies.

Page 1 of 2